Stumbling through Life

Making your way through the world one day at a time

JetBlue’s Fly Anywhere, Anytime, As Much As You’d Like for $599 (If We Think You’re Not Going To Use It) Promo

with one comment

JetBlue is apparently offering an “All You Can Jet” special to fly anywhere as much as you’d like for $599.  But not for everyone…only for certain folks.  You see, my friend received the below email from JetBlue encouraging her to hop on and fly all she likes, anywhere she likes for an entire month for $599 flat.  She could weekend in Bermuda every weekend between September 9th and October 9th if she’d like to or she could mix it up and hit up any of JetBlue’s international or domestic destinations.

JetBlue Promo for "Special Flyers"

JetBlue Promo for “Special Flyers”

Now, the question comes up – why did she receive this special offer from JetBlue while the rest of us are left to travel at full price?  The only “offer” I got from JetBlue is some baloney about it raining on my vacation or something.  This is the deal I wanted.

You see, I’m an active and frequent JetBlue traveler.  I am a member of TrueBlue.  I have the JetBlue American Express card.  In fact, I probably fly JetBlue at least once a month and always look to them first when booking travel.  (I’m just a loyal kind of guy.)  So, why did I not receive this promotion?

My thinking: JetBlue consciously removed people who travel over a certain threshold with them.  The company knows that I may travel once or twice during that period and this would definitely appeal to me.  In fact, it would probably encourage me to travel more so they would risk losing money on the offer to me.  My friend on the other hand, rarely travels.  She’s a member of TrueBlue and likes JetBlue but isn’t the type to jet away for the weekend somewhere on a normal occasion.  JetBlue knows that they probably would sell me a flight during that time period regardless and probably wouldn’t sell my friend a flight so they wanted to sweeten the pot for her a little.  Smart, I guess.  I mean, I guess from a marketing perspective it makes sense to try to encourage people you’re probably not going to otherwise get revenue from to spend.

My problem with it: What happens when this email gets forwarded along to very loyal JetBlue customers (like myself) who now look on their web site and can’t find the offer anywhere.  Who are left to wonder why they’ve been excluded from this special treatment.  I mean, I understand not emailing it out and the benefits of segmenting your lists but you’re seriously now going to block me from purchasing the pass?  I can’t believe it, JetBlue.

I am all for segmenting your list.  In fact, I wish many companies did a better job at it – I’m tired of getting crewcuts and email blasts for women’s shoes when I’ve CLEARLY told J.Crew that I’m only interested in Men’s.  I’ve literally written them and said, PLEASE J.CREW, PLEASE, do not send me any more email blasts about woman’s shoes.  I see your catchy subject line in my Inbox, I get all excited, I open the email and there it is: a pair of stilettos.  My heart sinks.  It’s just bad marketing practice.

BUT, I would argue that JetBlue is equally bad here.  I’m a loyal, loyal customer and it frankly feels like a slap in the face to not receive an offer like this.  In all sincerity, did you not think it would get forwarded around?!  Or, did you just not care how your regular, loyal, devoted customers would feel?

Written by stumbler

August 13, 2009 at 12:59 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s wrong with these airlines? They truly do not appreciate the customers that have been loyal for years. Do we need to dump our usual carriers every few years and switch to someone else?

    One Smart Woman

    August 13, 2009 at 5:13 pm


Leave a Reply

